Welcome

Welcome to the Catholic Healthcare Annual Review. In this 23 rd year of operation we continued to bring alive our Mission to promote life that brings hope to those we serve in the rapidly changing world of aged care in Australia.

  • img
    David Maher (Managing Director), Sr Judy Sippel RSJ AM (Vice Chair of Trustees), Emeritus Professor Jack Flanagan (Chair of Trustees), David Robinson (Chairman)

Our vision for 2020 is clear: we are building the aged care of tomorrow. Inspired by our Catholic tradition, we will be at the forefront of integrated aged care, providing services to meet an increasing need. Our passion is to enrich the lives of our clients, supporting them to live life to the full every day through a continued focus on person-centred services that enhance their health and wellbeing. We are also committed to building a great place to work for our people that inspires them to nurture their passion for enriching the lives of our clients. The aged care environment is changing, and we are changing too.

We have made great progress across the year in striving towards our vision. A quick snapshot of our achievements includes:

We completed our first major new residential service (St Catherine’s Bathurst), as part of our significant property development pipeline. A further two new aged care homes, McQuoin Park and Ipswich, will be completed in the 2017 calendar year. These developments feature the renewal of our long-standing aged care homes and at the same time, the creation of additional accommodation and care for these communities. During the past two years, more than 85% of our older homes have been refurbished.

In a key new initiative, we have formed an alliance with Lendlease Retirement, providing us with the opportunity to develop residential care homes across their Villages. The alliance commences with four homes in New South Wales and three in Victoria, extending our reach beyond New South Wales and Queensland. We will also provide Home Care services to Lendlease Retirement residents in NSW. The focus of the alliance is the creation of a continuum of care for the community in each location as their needs change over time.

We were excited to open a new aged care service at Charles O’Neill in Newcastle, in partnership with NSW Health, for those living with mental health conditions. Our Home Care services embraced the new de-regulated market, retaining loyal clients with our caring services. We also trialled new technologies for our home care clients, including customised computer tablets to enhance communication, provide passive monitoring for care, and offer a Client Portal to give users easier access.

State-of-the-art clinical software, eCase, was implemented in our residential aged care homes. Our Catholic Healthcare Foundation supported the appointment of a Clinical Chair at Charles Sturt University, focusing on research in aged care in rural areas; and we celebrated 50 years of service at St Catherine’s Aged Care.

We commenced our initial First Year Graduate Nurse program with more than 20 participants so far, and an investment of more than $100,000 per annum. We continued our scholarship program for all staff and a new annual Reward & Recognition program, eDove, was introduced across our organisation. During the year multiple recipients achieved awards for culturally-respectful services, quality practice in aged care, and technology-enabling solutions for clients.

We express our gratitude to all our dedicated staff for their passionate care of our clients. Their work is our Mission in action each and every day across our services. We also thank the Bishops of New South Wales and the Australian Capital Territory for their support, and the Diocesan Development Funds for partnering with Catholic Healthcare in pursuit of our Mission.

While we achieved our financial expectations for the year, we recognise a challenging financial environment for the future as a result of government funding cuts in residential care. This is closely related to a fluid policy environment as the government strives to achieve a sustainable and quality aged care system.

We look forward to working with the Commonwealth government to shape policies and approaches in the year ahead, and our actions and response will be guided by our Mission and Catholic identity as we build the aged care of tomorrow.

At a Glance

  • 40 RESIDENTIAL AGED CARE SERVICES
  • 2367 RESIDENTIAL AGED CARE PLACES
  • 49 .2% CONCESSIONAL RATIO
  • 9 Retirement communities
  • 286 Retirement Living Units
  • 6 .2 Years average residential tenure
  • 2 Healthcare services
  • 34 Healthcare places
  • 2367 Healthcare admissions
  • 4617 Community services client
  • 14681 RAS assessments completed
  • 1130 Home care packages
  • 3715 Employees
  • 1275 Volunteers
  • 104 Leaders

Our Stories

Our organisational Mission of ‘enriching lives’ and values underpin the purpose of everything we do.

Throughout our various services, we have staff members demonstrating these values, enriching the lives of the residents, clients and patients in every facet of their working lives. We invite you to hear their stories and see the impact of their compassion, excellence, honesty, hospitality and respect through their eyes.

Year in Review

July 2016
img

Property for people in need

Catholic Healthcare pursues our Mission of enriching lives through securing new sites in Maroubra and Casula, enabling us to provide care to more people in need

The organisation celebrates 22 years of operation on its Foundation Day, 21 July

August 2016

Finalist in national awards

Catholic Healthcare’s Unananderra Aged Care home, Villa Maria is announced as one of six finalists in the 2016 Meaningful Ageing Australia Quality Practice Awards

img

Aged Care Anniversary

On Friday 26 August, Mona Vale’s local aged care home George Mockler House celebrated its ruby anniversary, having been officially opened by St Vincent de Paul in 1976

SEPTEMBER 2016

Willoughby Wellness Centre receives positive feedback

Catholic Healthcare’s Home and Community Services team receives positive feedback for providing quality respite for carers at the Willoughby Wellness Day Centre

img

Excellence in Human Resources

The Australian HR Awards nominates Catholic Healthcare as a finalist for the Best Leadership Development Program Award, for the organisation’s internal Management Essentials program

OCTOBER 2016
img

50 years young

St Catherine’s Aged Care home raises its bat in a half-century birthday celebration, supporting the local community of Bathurst since 1966

Career progression opportunities

Catholic Healthcare continues its staff scholarship program offering, supporting career progression for all staff

NOVEMBER 2016

Construction officially commences at the new integrated care development in Ipswich, Queensland

img

Innovative, ground-breaking technology

The Australian-first personalised computer tablet for seniors is introduced as part of Catholic Healthcare’s Community Service client package, breaking new ground in the aged care industry

DECEMBER 2016
img

Investing research into aged care

Catholic Healthcare partners with Charles Sturt University to fund a clinical chair position that will further quality research into the care of those living in residential aged care homes

img

A hand to those in need

More than 260 hampers and gifts are sourced for needy Catholic Healthcare clients, 60 of which were personally packed and provided by corporate staff members

JANUARY 2017

Quality clinical care

The internal rollout of state-of-the-art clinical care system, eCase, continues - creating an efficient, environmentally-friendly record of residents’ health and wellbeing

img

Fostering a Great Place to Work

As a part of the Great Place to Work Human Resources initiative, the eDove program continues into 2017 – recognising and rewarding great work across our organisation

FEBRUARY 2017
img

Supporting mental health challenges

In partnership with Hunter New England Local Health District, the region’s first mental health aged care transitional unit opens, and welcomes 10 older people in the home-like residence with the support of the NSW Ministry of Health

The commencement of Catholic Healthcare’s First Year Graduate Nurse program sees 16 participants engage in the initiative, with more than $100,000 per annum invested in nurses’ futures

MARCH 2017

Home funding support announcement

Minister for Aged Care, Ken Wyatt AM MP, announces new funding allowances for Commonwealth Home Funding support at Catholic Healthcare’s head office in Sydney

img

Forbes approval for expansion

Expansion of the Jemalong Residential Aged Care Village in Forbes gets approval to bring together two of the longest-serving aged care homes of the Central West community

APRIL 2017
img

Residents move in to the new St Catherine’s

St Catherine’s Aged Care home in Bathurst opens its doors to residents after the merge of two local services became one beautiful new home

An exciting new partnership

Catholic Healthcare commences an exciting trial offering of home care services into select Lendlease Retirement Villages

MAY 2017
img

105 reasons to smile

One of Catholic Healthcare’s longest-living residents celebrates her 105th birthday in the Holy Spirit Residential Aged Care home in Croydon

Art Therapy recognised at local annual show

The Dementia Art Therapy group at St Joseph’s Residential Aged Care of Coffs Harbour receives recognition in several categories at the local annual Coffs Harbour Show

Catholic Healthcare wins industry-leading Aged and Community Services Australia (ACSA) award

JUNE 2017
img

Catholic Healthcare forms an exciting alliance with Lendlease Retirement, creating an opportunity to develop residential aged care services across their villages

img

Improved comfort for residents

A significant investment into refurbishing 85% of our residential aged care homes occurs throughout a two-year period, improving the level of comfort experienced by residents

Our People

Our People are at the heart of what we do.

Our organisation has a big heart, and every one of our 3,715 people play an important part in ensuring that this is felt by all in our care. Whether it’s providing care directly or supporting those that do, we’re committed to empowering our people to fulfil their day-to-day responsibilities to the highest standards possible. Engaged people, proud and happy to be part of our organisation, translates into great service. It’s this service that allows us to bring alive our Mission of enriching people’s lives.

We demonstrate our commitment to our people through the way that we listen and lead, build community and culture, celebrate achievements and diversity, and equip our people with the skills and knowledge they need to deliver their best. We aspire to improve and are determined to be better, year on year.

We demonstrate our commitment to our people through the way that we listen and lead, build community and culture, celebrate achievements and diversity, and equip our people with the skills and knowledge they need to deliver their best. We aspire to improve and are determined to be better, year on year.

Gathering people insights

Each year, we conduct an employee survey that seeks to capture the thoughts and opinions of our people on a variety of topics relating to their experiences in their workplaces. The outcomes of this survey inform our strategy by identifying priority areas for focus and attention. It’s an important part of how we build culture and stay in touch with issues that are important to our people.

With more than 2000 responses, the 2016 survey identified three areas that our people felt we needed to focus on:

  • Increased access to learning and development opportunities
  • Improved feedback from managers around personal performance
  • Greater recognition of achievement

Ongoing commitment to learning

We offer a scholarship program designed to encourage ongoing learning in areas that bring benefit to the current and future roles of our people. In 2016 our scholarships attracted 18 people studying a variety of programs and courses.

We also saw increased investment in eLearning options in response to a need for broader access to learning opportunities outside of the traditional classroom.  

Leadership development remains a priority for our organisation, and in 2016 we successfully ran two programs involving 40 nominated people in the Catholic Healthcare organisation.

Attracting talent

A growing organisation like Catholic Healthcare needs to be innovative in the way we attract and engage prospective employees. We seek to attract people with not only the essential skills and knowledge pertaining to their occupation, but the right ‘heart’ and holistic outlook on life. Working in aged care, retirement living, healthcare and community services means that the needs of others are at the centre of all we do, and possessing the right attitude and heart is imperative to delivering the excellent standard of care we pursue.

Providing excellent levels of care is a priority for our organisation. Throughout the last few years, we have invested more in clinical roles such as Registered Nurses, and have placed them where they are needed most. In regional locations we were experiencing more challenges in resourcing, so in response we launched the Catholic Healthcare Graduate Nurse Program, an initiative designed to attract quality nursing talent into our organisation. By engaging nursing students during their tertiary studies and providing them with valuable work placement and financial support options, we have been able to build strong relationships with candidates that have translated into employment opportunities at the conclusion of their studies. To date, 23 people have participated in this program.   

Celebrating our people

At Catholic Healthcare, celebrating the contributions and successes of our people is an important part of who we are as an organisation. We regularly recognise a range of achievements, such as service milestones, project completions and other efforts. Our online eDove Awards program was expanded in 2016 and is an innovative way to nominate and reward people for their input.   

The annual Gold Dove Awards are our highest accolade and recognises excellence in achievement across the following categories:

Living the Values – given to those who exemplify the Catholic Healthcare Values in their day-to-day role

Project – recognising team achievement for innovation and excellence in delivery

Volunteers – presented for service to the Catholic Healthcare community

These outstanding individuals have gone the extra mile for our organisation throughout 2016 and 2017. The Gold Dove awards recognise a few selected staff members each year who have shown passion and drive in their daily commitment to Catholic Healthcare.

Project of the Year: First Year Registered Nurse Program – Sonali Pinto & Di Thomas

The RN graduate programs were created to encourage the recruitment and development of the next generation of Registered Nurses. The programs create a supportive learning environment for RNs out of university who are interested in working in aged care. We have been overwhelmed with the popularity of the programs with newly graduated nurses and it has proved an effective way of attracting and developing our future clinical leaders.

Project of the Year: Living Longer, Living Better – Significant Refurbishment Program – Elizabeth Bramford, Steven Ng and Elizabeth Dundon

Since the inception of the Living Longer, Living Better program in late 2015, Catholic Healthcare has been individually assessing and delivering capital works to the majority of Residential Aged Care services. Not only have our residents benefitted from better facilities and equipment, we have also enabled some $3.9M+ of extra revenue per annum to date. The team has worked tirelessly to ensure that disruption during the works is limited, whilst maintaining cost-effective staging.

Project of the Year: CCS Health & Wellness Framework – Erin Stubbs, Daniel Davies

Catholic Healthcare recognised the importance of having a Health and Wellness unit as a foundation to our service delivery model and Mission, and commenced a project to achieve this. The development of a Health and Wellness Framework and the establishment of a Health and Wellness unit with key successful outcomes has been a project of significance for 2016/17.

“When I volunteer, it makes me happy knowing that I can bring a smile to the face of others. I know that I am making a difference in their lives every day.”

Ann Ng, Community Services Volunteer of the Year, Sydney

A loyal volunteer for six years, Ann is a consistently motivated individual who spends a large part of her volunteering effort on visiting a resident at Gertrude Abbott Aged Care in Surry Hills.

Catholic Healthcare prides itself on creating opportunities for individuals of all cultures. Ann speaks limited English but the volunteer program has been beneficial not only for the residents she visits, but also for her personally.

A responsible, conscientious and committed volunteer, Ann’s character truly reflects the Catholic Healthcare values.

“There is a fulfilment in knowing that our assistance goes a long way to enhancing the quality of life for those less fortunate than ourselves.”

Genevieve Croaker, Residential Aged Care Volunteer of the Year, Bathurst

Genevieve is a very deserving recipient of the Gold Dove award for the many years of service she has given. Genevieve’s contributions have no limit – as a homegrown Bathurst girl, she is closely connected to the town, and her heart-warming, caring demeanour means a great deal to the residents. Earlier this year, in the move to a newly improved St Catherine’s, Genevieve was integral to the success of this venture, allaying residents’ fears with her hospitality, respect, generosity and kindness.

“The patients we work with make even the toughest days truly worthwhile, and I feel it is a privilege to be part of their journey.”

Clair Sparrius, Physiotherapy - Head of Department, Lourdes Hospital and Community Health Service, Dubbo

Clair has demonstrated excellent clinical care for her clients and their families. She is a true source of motivation to her team of physiotherapists, encouraging colleagues to feel motivated and participate in projects.

Throughout the last 12 months, Clair proactively attended education sessions and relevant camps to improve herself, the physiotherapy team and the service staff at Lourdes Hospital. Her persistent advocacy of self-improvement and the constant encouragement of those around her makes Clair well-deserving of the Gold Dove award.

“My colleagues make me smile every day and bring light to even the darkest days. We are all on the same page and share the same passion regarding client care.”

Donna-Marie Burrell, Community Service Worker, Surry Hills and Macquarie Park Corporate Offices, Sydney

Donna-Marie started working with Community Services in June 2006. Since then she has held many roles, bringing enthusiasm to each of them even in the busiest of times. In mid-2016, Donna-Marie was seconded to the Community Worker Recruitment Project and embraced the extra working hours with tireless enthusiasm and positivity. She gives 100% to her role, shows exceptional leadership skills at community worker meetings, and consistently engages the community workers in a positive and empowering way.

“I feel so privileged to be a part of the residents’ lives in the latter part of their journey. To all the families who so openly allowed me into their lives, I say ‘thank you’.”

Susan Loy, Administration Supervisor, St Francis Aged Care Service, Grafton (Retired)

Susan has been at St Francis Aged Care since 1981, serving in multiple roles, in each of which she has strived to create an effective and happy workplace. She demonstrates a passion for serving, truly contributing to the ‘home-like’ atmosphere of St Francis. Her peers admire her passion, positivity and constant smile for everyone. Susan sincerely embodies the organisation’s Mission and enriches the lives of all those around her.

“What I loved about my job was the amazing people I worked with, and the true dedication of all of our staff.”

Meridie McDonnell, Client and Resident Revenue Manager, Finance Department, Macquarie Park Corporate Office, Sydney (Retired)

In Meridie’s final year before retirement, she was awarded the Gold Dove award – a well-deserved recognition attesting to her energy, values and true embodiment of the Catholic Healthcare spirit.

Meridie served more than seven years in the finance department of Catholic Healthcare, demonstrating a selfless and bright attitude. She worked tirelessly to improve the accuracy of the accounts and enhance the insight of users into them. She is a truly deserving recipient of the Gold Dove award.

Residential Aged Care

We invest in older Australians’ well-being, care and safety so they can feel comfortable in calling our services ‘home’

  • img

    Overview

    As Australians reach their later years, they may need the support of professional, trusted companions. Residential Aged Care is a service offered to our seniors who can no longer live independently in their own home. We support this transition through the care and compassion of our skilled staff at each of our aged care homes.

    At the heart of our service are our residents and their health, safety and happiness. For more than 20 years of operation, Catholic Healthcare has made a commitment to continuous improvement across our homes.

    Throughout 2016/17, Catholic Healthcare maintained a supported ratio of 49% in our Residential Aged Care homes. This service to those in need is part of our commitment to providing care to those who might not otherwise have the ability to access care.

    The eCase clinical software – a digital initiative for our care staff so time is efficiently spent on managing clients’ care needs – was implemented across 22 metropolitan and regional services in 2016/17. Thousands of printed documents were taken online in eCase, allowing a smooth transition of patient information between clinicians, with a real-time update of patient notes and residents’ movements to reflect the current status of resident care across all our services.

    Accreditation Success

    This financial year, Catholic Healthcare underwent more than 40 successful accreditation checks within our Residential Aged Care services. The quality of our standard of care was assessed and we achieved 100% compliance across all services. We are committed to providing the best quality care possible for our residents and this outcome attests to that commitment.

  • img

    Planning for the future

    We at Catholic Healthcare understand that in order to meet the future demand for aged care, we need to provide new options for Australian seniors. To this end, we are pursuing exciting innovations, new partnerships and property developments that our future residents will one day call ‘home’.

    The projected number of older people needing our care indicates that the population entering our services in 2020 will be nearly double the figure accommodated in 2000.

    Throughout the past 12 months, we have invested significantly in new development for our current and future residents. A significant development throughout this period was the merging of two of our Bathurst Aged Care homes to provide a new state-of-the-art residence, St Catherine’s Aged Care. Nearly 70 residents were relocated from the original St Catherine’s, joined by another 27 from St Vincent’s Aged Care in Bathurst, to their new home in early 2017.

    Stage 2 of this development is scheduled in the early months of 2018, with the home welcoming an additional 31 residents to the new St Catherine’s community.

    The construction of our new McQuoin Park service in Wahroonga on the upper north shore of Sydney, commenced mid-2016. The new service will provide residential aged care for 122 residents who will enjoy their own private rooms with ensuites, communal dining and dementia-specific areas.

    At Catholic Healthcare, our residents’ care and comfort come first.

    An extensive amount of investment this year resulted in significant refurbishment at many of our existing homes, as well as working towards newly-built homes for our future residents. Throughout the past two years, more than 85% of our older homes have been refurbished, and throughout the past 12 months we have made giant leaps in new property development across New South Wales and south-eastern Queensland.

    From July 2016 to June 2017, Catholic Healthcare completed refurbishments at a total of 21 homes, incorporating a variety of updates to the services including new common area flooring, freshly painted walls and ceilings, new curtains, furniture, beds and bathrooms, equipment replacements, TV installations in resident rooms and installation of air conditioning. These changes help our residents feel at home and ensure they feel comfortable in the service they reside in.

    Our purchase of land in Maroubra and Casula is another exciting development that has occurred throughout the past 12 months. These two sites will ultimately contribute to our projected growth plan in meeting the needs of the ageing population.

    These significant developments attest to the Catholic Healthcare mission of enriching lives at every stage. We are committed to growing our care and service to older Australians and aim to accommodate an additional 1,000 residents in our homes by 2020.

  • img

    Research and partnerships

    We invest in the future, learning more about what our residents need, want and deserve. In the 2016/17 financial year we made significant investments in partnerships and research initiatives that will allow us to continue to deliver the highest quality care to our current and future residents.

    Catholic Healthcare partnered with the NSW Ministry of Health and the Hunter New England Mental Health Services to provide the Hunter region with its first Mental Health Aged Care Partnership Initiative (MHACPI) Transition Unit. The unit officially opened in February 2017 and is part of a ten-year commitment to providing a tailored transition into mainstream residential aged care for seniors living with mental health conditions. This program is an integral component of the Pathways to Community Living Initiative (PCLI) within “Living Well”, a Strategic Plan for Mental Health in NSW 2014-2024.

    “This program is transforming people’s lives, and it also carries a symbolic weight; it says that we must never again tolerate a situation where people are separated indefinitely from the life of the community.”

    In another research initiative, Catholic Healthcare partnered with Macquarie University in a project aimed to improve the quality use of medicines in Residential Aged Care. The project specifically sought to reduce the use of antipsychotics prescribed to manage the behavioural and psychological symptoms of dementia.

    Catholic Healthcare has identified the challenge in prescribing these medications to residents across the aged care sector and is looking to alternative therapies as another option in the management of these conditions. Alongside the project, Catholic Healthcare is using the opportunity to continue educating staff in the use of antipsychotics, as well as providing onsite support for Care Managers and Registered Nurses.

    Research shows that up to 90% of residents in aged care services endure chronic pain. In order to manage this effectively, Catholic Healthcare has partnered with experts from Mundipharma, who have assisted in educating our staff on the best practice of pain management in residential aged care. In 2016/17 we commenced a pilot training program involving 14 of our aged care services that directly sought to meet the challenges associated with pain management. Following exceptional results, this training program will be implemented at other Catholic Healthcare services in the coming months.

    One key alliance Catholic Healthcare formed in the final months of the 2016/17 year is with the largest operator of retirement living in Australia, Lendlease Retirement. This alliance allows us to build upon selected existing villages operated by Lendlease, expanding the service to integrate residential aged care and retirement living on the same campus.

    Construction of the new residential aged care services is scheduled to begin in the first half of 2018, with the first service expected to commence operations in mid-2019. This will form part of our existing schedule of planned developments.

    This is an exciting time for Catholic Healthcare as we forge new frontiers in other states, and is all a part of our new vision for the future - to build the aged care of tomorrow.

Home and Community Services

We support the Australian dream to live independent, healthy lives at home for longer.

  • img

    Overview

    Australians are choosing to receive care at home for longer these days. Living in one’s own environment is a preferred option, and Catholic Healthcare continues to support this decision by investing in the health and wellness, social engagement and restorative care services for our older Australians – all in the comfort of their own home.

    Through the course of the year, the Catholic Healthcare Community Services team has made some significant changes in their offerings to current and potential clients.

    The ageing population of Australia is growing and, thanks to better health, healthcare and advances in science and research, people are living longer. This year, the aged care sector underwent major reforms in the way individuals choose their care in the later years of life. These changes mean our clients can be empowered by the choice and flexibility of care offered to them. Our services include people from all levels of means: financially disadvantaged individuals, those experiencing homelessness, hoarding and squalor issues, mental health challenges, and elder abuse victims.

    For thousands of individuals seeking care, the fundamental changes this year mean that whatever circumstances they are experiencing, Catholic Healthcare’s Community Services can always lend a helping hand.

    Career support and progression

    Catholic Healthcare’s Home and Community Services team are currently supporting 35 care workers to achieve their Certificate III in Individual Support, a nationally accredited qualification.
    Catholic Healthcare feels passionate about investing in our staff members’ personal career progression and the expansion of their skills. When recruiting care workers, we recognise the important of life skills and experience of individuals, but equally acknowledge the importance of formal training and education in ensuring our service delivery is of the highest standard. With the help of this training, these staff members gain the tools that can help them deliver a continued excellent service of care and develop leadership skills.

    Throughout the past 12 months, the opportunity to receive training in medication assistance has also been offered to all our Home and Community Service care workers. This continues our mission of enriching people’s lives and embodies the highest standard of service delivery to our clients.

    Quality Review success

    This year, five aged care planning regions in Catholic Healthcare’s Home and Community Services were reviewed by the Australian Aged Care Quality Agency (AACQA). These regions included the Central West, Warnervale Wellness Centre, the Hunter region, the Mid-North Coast and the Riverina Murray.

    All quality reviews undertaken in these regions achieved a 100% rating against the expected quality standard outcomes. This is a reflection of the quality of services being consistently delivered to our clients across the state of NSW.

    The reviews take into consideration feedback from our clients, staff and documented evidence of client care, and organisation processes and systems. AACQA made the following observations:

    • There is an obvious team approach to care
    • There is a focus on continuous improvement initiatives; the new system and use of Procura Mobile software were commended
    • There is a significant, positive focus on the community workers’ understanding of their individual clients, and their personal needs
    • Care planning with clients is taken seriously, and thought out thoroughly to match client needs
  • img

    Advances in technology

    Catholic Healthcare’s Community Services has significantly invested in a number of initiatives to strengthen communication with clients. It is established knowledge in the aged care industry that technology is a great contributor in helping clients feel more social, less isolated and generally more content.

    During the past 12 months, Catholic Healthcare’s Information Services worked closely with the Community Services team to bring tablet access to our clients. The tablet is called My Catholic Healthcare (MyCH) and is an Australian-first initiative striving towards greater independence for our older generation.

    A collaboration between Samsung Electronics Australia, Catholic Healthcare and Breezie Inc. delivered a tablet solution in a pilot program to Catholic Healthcare’s Community Service clients in early 2017.

    The solution is personalised to meet the specific needs of each client and designed to support more independent living as well as improved connectivity to relevant online services.

    It cuts through the complexities of technology and empowers users to access the social and psychological benefits that connected technology can deliver. Some Community Service clients have already found significant benefit in the tablet’s ability to communicate remotely with their carer, and others have even reconnected with family members living overseas.

    Beryl, a resident of Sydney's West, has been working with a tablet and the assistance of her volunteer, Louise, for several months. Now she says she "couldn't live without Facebook", and considers it her lifeline.

    Louise says Beryl’s response is truly heart-warming. "Beryl has since started a computer course, which has certainly been inspired by her experience with the tablet. She's extremely happy with the new interest the tablet has given her."

    It’s easy to see how Beryl's positive experience with MyCH, which is echoed by many others across Catholic Healthcare, attests to the software's impact on individual's lives.

    Another notable innovation achieved in the 2016/17 year is the successful implementation of Procura Mobile for staff members, a technology platform that is now used by 460 frontline care workers via their mobile phones.

    The technology provides frontline staff with ‘real time’ communication that optimises the quality and timeliness of care. The application delivers the most up-to-date care plans and client-directed activities straight to the frontline worker’s mobile phone.

    Another key success in the utilisation of this technology has been the benefit to the Catholic Healthcare organisation as a whole. It has reduced manual administration processes, thereby allowing resources to be utilised to their best ability, and has also been deployed to other areas of the organisation where resources might be less available.

    This initiative has been highly successful due to the effective communication, training and strong project partnership between Community Services, Information Services and Human Resources, which have been working together to achieve impressive outcomes for our staff and clients.

  • img

    Health and Wellness

    Catholic Healthcare’s Health and Wellness unit have contributed diligently throughout the past 12 months to develop a variety of programs that are now available across key business streams. The Health and Wellness unit are an integral function of the Home and Community Services team and have experienced great success in the rollout of their programs throughout the past year.

    The team have worked to upskill frontline staff in Residential Aged Care settings, improve clients’ Home Care packages and Independent Living units, among many other efforts, so they are equipped to deliver the programs’ content in conjunction with allied health. The Health and Wellness unit have developed three unique client programs focused on being active:

    • Walking with Confidence – falls prevention program
    • Neck and Back Health Program – assisting seniors to improve slack posture as a result of prolonged sitting and inactivity
    • Feel Fit – a heart health improvement program

    These initiatives have demonstrated great success in the past 12 months. Among the clients who participated in the Walking with Confidence program, 90% showed a reduced risk of falling, and other data collected from the groups is assisting clients to live at home independently for longer.

    The team have continued their focus on wellbeing by developing three more programs to manage clients’ health and improve their knowledge of chronic health conditions. Participants were shown how to achieve optimal nutrition through three Eat Better, Feel Better, Age Well programs;

    • Healthy Eating Program
    • Eating for clients with diabetes
    • Eating for a healthy heart

    In addition to the development of the above programs – a significant achievement for the Health and Wellness unit – a number of presentations were created, including the Short-Term Restorative Pilot Program. Some of these presentations have been featured in various well-regarded health journals, such as the Journal of Ageing and Physical Activity, lifting the profile of Catholic Healthcare as a leader in the health and wellness industry.

    Compassion and care

    In the 2016/17 period, Catholic Healthcare’s Community Services received additional funding to support vulnerable older people who are homeless or at risk of homelessness in the Illawarra region. The Minister for Aged Care, Ken Wyatt, made the announcement at Catholic Healthcare’s Sydney office in early 2017, as part of the latest $115 million growth funding round.

    Compassion and care are qualities our staff are proud to embody in their everyday service to the older people of Australia, and the additional funding allows Catholic Healthcare to continue providing this service, particularly to individuals whose constrained financial reach would otherwise deprive them of access.

    At Catholic Healthcare, we are invested in ensuring the lives of our clients are enriched and fulfilled. The industry changes have enabled our organisation to expand our offerings and include even more older persons, particularly those seeking aged care and who might not have the means to afford it.

    Catholic Healthcare continued to invest significantly in the provision of pastoral care in our services in 2016/17, with pastoral carers at all our care services and two pastoral carers working specifically in Community Services.

    The pastoral care and spiritual guidance provided to both our staff and our clients is a hallmark of our organisation. The dedicated compassion and comfort given by our carers has made a significant difference to the individuals in our care – particularly those dealing with anxiety, stress and change.

Retirement Living

Maintain independence, engage in a local community, downsize to a home that suits your lifestyle. Do all the things you want to do, and more, with Retirement Living.

  • img

    Overview

    A sense of belonging is integral to our residents’ happiness. Retirement Living offers an opportunity to engage in community activities while maintaining independence. Our retirement villages feature a warm and friendly home environment while our social services provide a range of activities that offer opportunities to join in without leaving the village.

    Each year, Catholic Healthcare strives to provide even better service to each of our residents. We empower our residents to speak up about what they would like in their villages and work together to implement these.

    Throughout the past year, our retirement villages have enjoyed many successes. As a part of our people-focused initiative, the St Peter’s Green Lane Cove retirement village commenced an in-room dining service to all residents, ensuring the highest level of comfort for residents. This initiative, and many others demonstrates Catholic Healthcare’s commitment to long-term deserved comfort for our residents.

  • img

    Research and partnerships

    The partnerships we engage in contribute to a better lifestyle for our residents and our support staff. The Brighton, our award-winning retirement village, partnered with the Sydney University Enactus Group in the Project Flashback program. The group piloted their program with residents at the Croydon Retirement Village, providing a platform for them to share their experiences through creativity.

    The intergenerational understanding between local seniors and aspiring writers from the University of Sydney benefited both groups greatly, particularly the residents, who felt empowered by the opportunity to share their memories.

    Another partnership reviewed the amount of energy consumed at The Brighton Village and provided a platform for residents to take ownership of how their allocated funds were being spent. The energy audit, conducted by Autonomous Energy, identified potential cost savings for the village while demonstrating the efficiency of an alternative design to better utilise energy in the future.

    Our partnership with the INS Group has resulted in the implementation of the Lifeguard SmartHome IPD, a unique, patented system providing a personal emergency response, telehealth and home automation in our various retirement homes across NSW. For those individuals experiencing medical conditions that require consistent monitoring, this technology is groundbreaking.

    This technology puts assistance right at our residents’ fingertips and allows for an immediate response to falls, unforeseen accidents and other incidents needing emergency assistance. The rollout of this technology represents a further commitment to the quality care of our residents, provides additional reassurance to family members, and reflects the Catholic Healthcare mission to enrich people’s lives.

  • img

    Path to purchase

    Catholic Healthcare empowers residents to make decisions with the support of their village manager. With the help of our dedicated retirement village staff and one key manager for each site, a helping hand is never far away. The process of moving into a retirement village has been a fruitful experience for many of our happy residents.

    We have continued to uphold our commitment to Honesty to all residents in our villages with a completely open discussion on the experience of adapting to retirement living before a commitment is made.

    We strongly recommend potential new residents attend and enjoy regular residents’ events to gain a true feel and understanding of the village.

    We followed two very satisfied individuals on their path to purchase and moving into our retirement villages. You can hear more about their thoughts in this video.

Healthcare

We help our patients to live in comfort and dignity, and offer the care and support they need.

  • img

    Overview

    Catholic Healthcare offers support to those in times of need. We operate two healthcare services, Lourdes Hospital & Community Health Service in Dubbo and St Vincent’s Outreach Services in Bathurst, each with a team of skilled, compassionate staff who are closely connected to the local community.

    Like Catholic Healthcare’s other services, we are always looking for opportunities to improve. This year, we were pleased to make a number of advances in the way we work.

    A donation from Pink Angels, a local support agent for Breast Cancer patients, went towards the provision of a moisture meter and associated garments to measure breast oedema at Lourdes Hospital in Dubbo. This is a specific forward-thinking initiative which measures the amount of oedema in the tissue, allowing our Occupational Therapy unit to measure and manage the oedema of patients with breast cancer – which was not possible before. In addition to this, compression sleeves were also donated for the management of lymphedema in the arms which is the primary treatment reducing swelling and supports the vascular function of the arms.

    Lastly, patient journey boards were implemented throughout Lourdes Hospital, providing patients with information at the bedside on their rehabilitation goals. These initiatives and others demonstrate patients’ personal progress and empowers those recovering with us to feel a sense of achievement about their health.

  • img

    Community involvement

    Contributing to the local community through fundraising and assisting in local events is an important element of holistically supporting our patients. Lourdes Hospital and St Vincent’s both worked hard to successfully run a number of events and drive local support for the services in this 2016/17 year.

    Lourdes Hospital and St Vincent’s Outreach Program have been actively involved in multiple community events throughout the year, including Jeans for Genes Day, Daffodil Day, Australia’s Biggest Morning Tea and Dry July.

    Our commitment to these community events demonstrates our investment in the health of the community not only in our daily work, but also in our everyday lives.

  • img

    Quality care and service

    At Catholic Healthcare, we understand the importance in constantly seeking improvement across all of our services, thereby improving the lives of our patients, customers, clients and residents. In June 2017, Lourdes Hospital reaped particularly positive feedback on the quality of patient care.

    The hospital was surveyed against the National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards by the Australian Council on Healthcare Standards, and was pleased to see great outcomes across the board of their results.

    Lourdes Hospital has taken significant steps in expanding staff/patient communication, implementing programs like the allied health intensity project, patient journey boards and various other initiatives that contributed to this result.

    The NSQHS assessed the impressive organisational progress made since the previous annual survey and noted the organisation’s commitment to the quality and safety of patients as well as the dedication of the staff to their place of work and their patients.

    This result would certainly not have been possible without the compassionate and loyal team at Lourdes Hospital, including Occupational Therapist Brenda Svensson, who contributed to this year’s achievement through her paper on Segmental Bioimpedance Informing Lymphoedema Diagnosis. Brenda is just one example of the team who takes incredible pride in their work, and embody our values and organisational mission every day.

Finance and Governance

Catholic Healthcare’s governance structure operates under both Canon Law and Civil Law and ensures that our foundational responsibilities are achieved.

Canon Law – Public Juridic Person

Our governance structure comprises Catholic Healthcare – the Church entity. Catholic Healthcare was canonically established as a public juridic person by the Bishops of NSW and the ACT on 21 July 1994.

Our foundational responsibilities are enshrined in the Statutes of Catholic Healthcare and the norms of Canon Law. The governance of our public juridic person is entrusted to the Trustees who are elected by the members.

Catholic Healthcare, the public juridic person, is comprised of the following members:

  • Archdiocese of Canberra and Goulburn
  • Brigidine Sisters, NSW Province
  • Diocese of Bathurst
  • Diocese of Lismore
  • Diocese of Parramatta
  • Diocese of Wollongong
  • Institute of the Sisters of Mercy Australia and Papua New Guinea
  • Maronite Diocese of St Maroun
  • Little Company of Mary – Province of the Southern Cross
  • Our Lady of Dolours Parish, Chatswood
  • Sisters of Mercy, North Sydney Congregation (NSW)
  • Sisters of Perpetual Adoration
  • Sisters of St Joseph (NSW)
  • St Augustine’s Parish, Coffs Harbour
  • St Thomas Aquinas Parish, Springwood.

Civil Law – entities

The Trustees of Catholic Healthcare is a statutory body corporate created under the Roman Catholic Church Communities’ Lands Act (NSW) 1942 (the Act) and is the civil law entity of Catholic Healthcare, the public juridic person.

The Trustees of Catholic Healthcare (the civil body corporate) does not provide services. It functions in a stewardship capacity to oversee the ministry of the organisation and to ensure that Catholic Healthcare’s mission is fulfilled. This body corporate is the sole member of the main operating entity, Catholic Healthcare Limited (CHL). The Trustees appoint the Directors and the Chairman of CHL.  

Catholic Healthcare Limited (CHL) – is a not-for-profit public company limited by guarantee, and is the civil entity providing Catholic Healthcare services.  

Trustees of Catholic Healthcare 2016/17

Trustee Status Date
Prof Jack Flanagan, Chair Continuing  
Sr Mary Comer RSJ Continuing  
Mr Michael Kennedy Continuing  
Sr Anna Koeneman RSM Continuing  
Mr Hugh O’Reilly Continuing  
Sr Judy Sippel RSJ AM Continuing  
Professor Peter Steane Elected 29/11/2016
Ms Anne Walker Elected 29/11/2016
Sr Mary Wright IBVM Resigned 11/4/2017

Directors of Catholic Healthcare Limited 2016/17

Director Status Date
Mr David Robinson, Chair Continuing  
Mr Alan Crouch, Deputy Chair Continuing  
Ms Rebecca Davies Appointed 19/7/2017
Sr Diana Hayes RSCJ Continuing  
Mr Paul Johnson Continuing  
Mr Wayne Leamon Appointed 1/10/2016
Mr David Maher Continuing  
Mr Jim Tate Retired 8/07/2017
  • Annual Report

    Revenue by Source

    The group’s revenue and other income has reduced over the past three years following the transfer of the Hawkesbury District Health Service to St John of God and a significant one-off revaluation of investment properties in 2016.

    On a normalised basis, revenue and surplus have improved despite the impacts of reductions in the Aged Care Funding Instrument (ACFI) and the deregulation of the Home Care market to a consumer-directed care model. These surpluses create the foundation to reinvest in our current care services, in the growth of further aged care homes and investing in creating a better place for our clients to be supported and for our employees to work.

  • Annual Report

    Revenue by Service

    Revenue from core service lines Residential Aged Care, Home and Community Services and Retirement Living has grown as Healthcare services reduced, following the transfer of Hawkesbury District Health Service.

    Our revenue growth of 9% in Residential Aged Care in 2016/17 to $205.9m was supported by various key initiatives, and continued delivery of quality care to our residents, maintaining 96+% occupancy throughout the financial year.

    Our Community Services continue to grow as we expand our selection of programs to seniors and approach new sectors of the deregulated market, such as those living in retirement villages and new geographic regions.

  • Annual Report

    Net Assets

    The group’s net asset position has strengthened with the reinvestment of operational surpluses into land and buildings. During the year, the group acquired four pieces of land in NSW with a total value of $44.3m, on which over 450 beds are anticipated to be commissioned to reduce the shortage of aged care supply in the communities they serve.

    The group spent $61.7m on the refurbishment of 21 existing aged care homes and the capital development for two brand new homes at McQuoin Park, Wahroonga and St Catherine’s, Bathurst, with the desire of enhancing the quality of living for our current and future residents. As the group carries its assets at Fair Value, which are independently assessed every three years, there was uplift in the asset values of the group reflecting the uplift in general property values over that period.

    The net assets of the business are well-positioned to support the future growth and sustainability of the organisation.

    We extend our thanks to the Archdiocese Development funds for their ongoing support.